Hijo D’ Pita: I love cursing my food!

Z compound malingap

One change in the vowel sound and I’m doomed to censorship. Hijo D’ Pita’s name is such a bitch, since I’m always prone to saying the bad word—which admittedly I already am prone to doing on a daily basis.

the zone compound teacher's village

Hijo D’ Pita is in that Z Compound along Malingap St. which is the new hub for cheap street eats. I returned to the Z on a Sunday with high hopes of trying out Meshwe, which was disappointingly closed, so we ended up in the neighboring Hijo D’ Pita. The switch from Lebanese to Mexican was not that bad, since I had planned on ordering some kind of pita anyway.

UP village malingap st

Most of the menu items are pita-based, so we had the Classic Hijo Chili Beef Pita and the Hijo D’ Pita Chicken. Despite the impending darkness, it was wise to read through the menu, since the other chicken pita serving had bacon! Pita me!

Beef Chili Hijo de Pita

Chicken Hijo de Pita Malingap

So the basic Chicken Pita was mixed with its special sauce + condiments and tons of cucumber. The pita is more of a sandwich than a wrap, so expect it to come in a sandwich plastic bag and none of that foil-twist packaging. The side condiments come in the “sweet” side, even that dark sauce which I initially thought was hoisin.

nachos mexican malingap z compound

The Nachos are drizzled with substances that I found too hard to identify in the dark! I remember cucumber and carrot cubes and at least 3 sauces, plus nacho chips that were friendly to the bite.

NACHOS + PITA make the indefatigable combination, so I can’t complain, except that next time around, I would really like proper lighting, so that I would not have to use “flash” on my food.

They say that candle light dinner is romantic but I say that’s Hijo D’ P***!

Leave a comment

Filed under Home, Smorgasbord

Leave a Reply

