Chido, Gringo!

sm the block restaurant

As criminal as it may sound, I craved for and gave in to Gringo 3 times in a span of a couple of months.

It was that Chido (“cool”), not to mention situated in SM North The Block, which is just way too cool for the QC denizens.

The menu of Gringo isn’t that lengthy, and one look at the place, you know you’ve got to have chicken. And Gringo Original Chicken I had on all visits: quarter, half and whole!

gringo sm north

As much as possible, I wanted the sidings to vary but it would seem that the Roasted Eggplant (left) is the crowd favorite. I had it 3x as well! I just love the way the eggplant makes the healthier replacement to the usual mashed potato.

half chicken with roasted eggplant

I also had the mashed camote (hmmkay), garlic mushrooms, roasted squash and french fries, but it was the eggplant that stunned me on the first bite.

sm north restaurants

The Original Chicken was the way to go because it was already ultra flavorful and succulent, made even more delectable with the in-house sauces. I just poured the sauces on my sidings, and everything became a house party on my plate.

where to eat QC

The Gringo Baby Back Ribs was soft till the last bite, and still goes well with the roasted eggplant.

where to eat sm north

I kid you not when I say the Nacho Grande was a feast of a tray, because the tray occupied the length of the table! Asked to place the meat on the side, it was still generously covered with cheese and what-not.

The nachos are pretty much the same as the chicken siding, but with this gigantic volume, you know you’ll have to walk home.

gringo sm north

The Spicy Tuna Street Taco and Truffle Queso Quesadilla completed the Mexican fiesta. Both rich, indulgent and just zesty, finally we have a second Mexican haven in the northern malls, next to Mexicali!

latin american restaurant manila

Never got the chance to try their desserts, but next time, we certainly will.

Having to go on a walk though, dessert was still pursued, so we ended up in the quaint Casa Italia, still at the GF of SM the Block. It was dark and only the gelato lights radiated and beckoned the dessert cravers.

I had the matcha green tea. One scoop was all I needed to call it a day.

sm the block gelato

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Dessert Storm, Home, Smorgasbord

Leave a Reply

